Knitted lap blanket

blanket foldedKeeping the promise I made to myself, I have finally finished my lap blanket! Really it was just the binding off and weaving in the ends left to be done, but it was still languishing in a bag for years mocking me. So pleased it is done!

The yarn is Wool of the Andes from Knit Picks. 18 skeins of varying colours lugged back from the states by my wonderfully generous brother. If only they shipped to Australia!   lap blanket

I actually ordered this yarn as soon as I saw the pattern, way back in May 2011 just before my oldest turned 1 and I suddenly had a lot less “free” time. Since then, the pattern has been upgraded and is now a paid pattern on ravelry, available here.

Anyway, I love it. It is like the warmest snuggly granny blanket, with a slightly updated look. I’m sure it will end up being well used. Starting right now as it is just cool enough in the evenings to need a lap blanket, hurrah!

2 thoughts on “Knitted lap blanket

  1. The blanket looks great. I have a ripple blanket that I’m almost finished and I’m not looking forward to the ends. I’m glad I’m not the only one who hates weaving them in!

    I’ve been curious about the Knit Picks yarn for ages – I see it all over ravelry. My husband’s due for a work trip to the States next month. I might get some shipped some to his hotel….

Leave a Reply

