Sewing for our big trip

beachIt has been quiet on this blog lately while we’ve been away on our first family holiday overseas. So much fun! So much planning/purchasing/packing involved when traveling with toddlers! We love Fiji!

I’m ready to start on so many things, but I promised myself I would finish off some of the half-completed projects that are lying around, starting with the knitted blanket I cast on in Jan 2012…. Anyway, here’s a few things I made for this trip, mostly from scraps leftover from other projects.

kindle caseI planned to do a lot of reading while we were away, so my Kindle was one of the first things I packed. I used this tutorial from Whipstitch to make the cover and it is perfect. If I had more time (next time?) I would make something similar for our passports and travel documents.

Fabric: Stripe fabric is Bozoku Cotton Duck #4 from Spotlight.

toy sleeping bagsQuilted sleeping bags for Mama and Papa bear! I thought this might help with sleeping in strange places, ha. I made these the night before we left (when I should have been packing), using this tutorial.

Fabric:  Lemon print is ‘Montreaux drill grocer #6′ from Spotlight; Castles print is a Lizzy House Castle Peeps fat quarter from Big W. Bias tape from Hobbysew.

hatAnd another Oliver + S bucket hat. Here it is straight from the wash, looking more than a little crushed! This one is made from fabrics that were already well traveled. The hippos were among a stash brought back from Tokyo by my lovely friend S and the floral was a gift from a trip my in-laws made to the UK and Ireland.

Fabric: Hippo print is Trefle by Kokka from Nomura Tailor, floral print is Alexander Henry Fulham Road Mulberry Moss in Tawny Plum.

Leave a Reply

