Nostalgia and a retro girls apron

susies new stove coverOne of the many things I love about having children is the chance to revisit favourite things from my own childhood. This little golden book, Susie’s New Stove, was one of my favourites (although surely already vintage when I owned it!) and I remember wishing I had a little ruffle apron just like hers. I’m glad I didn’t know that her oven was an actual working toy you could buy!
susies new stove apronAnyway, back to the apron. Here’s another one with rick-rack that Susie lends to her friend Carol. Gorgeous!Vintage Simplicity 5333I was thrilled to find this vintage Simplicity pattern at the thrift shop (uncut!) and decided an apron would be a perfect gift for my niece’s third birthday.

retro apron collageWhite is not a great colour for an apron, especially when it is for a little one, so I found a bright lemon print (much more electric blue than the photos show), which one of my vintage cotton spools matched perfectly.

retro apron insideThe inside seams are bound with bias tape.

retro apron back collageThe back is done up with a button as well as a beautiful, big bow. It was all tied up in yellow and blue wrapping with Annabel Karmel’s Mummy and Me Cookbook. I have several of Annabel’s books and we use them all the time. Hopefully these recipes are more inspiring than those in Susie’s New Stove! Is it any wonder that cooking isn’t my thing?canned soup recipeFabric: Lemon print is called ‘Montreaux drill grocer #6’ and eyelet trim both from Spotlight.

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia and a retro girls apron

Leave a Reply

