A first quilt

nautical crib quiltWe’ve just welcomed a new little boy into our extended family and I wanted to make him his (and my!) first quilt, inspired by a gorgeous one made for my daughter by her talented aunt.

It’s a very basic block quilt of 72 x 5.5in squares. Seems I can’t go past a nautical print for boys, so I love this bundle of Michael Miller Ahoy Matey fabric that I found at Fabricworm. Apparently babies love the colourful prints too!

quilt testerThe back is one piece of flannel, quilted in zig zag to disguise any ‘imperfections’ caused by patchworking with a toddler on my lap/around my ankles (difficult to perfect, that). The flannel then folds around from the back a la this tutorial which saved me the hassle of cutting and pressing huge lengths of bias tape.flannel quilt back

quilt topHope the quilt can be used for happy playtime and sweet dreams for the little one.

Fabric: Michael Miller Ahoy Matey fabrics from Fabricworm; blue flannel from Spotlight.

Leave a Reply

