Batman box for a birthday boy

This little cutie popped up on my pinterest radar lately and inspired a Batman birthday box for my nephew who is turning two.

I used this tutorial for the cape as I loved that the reverse side hides a secret Superman cape.  Anyone with toddlers knows there needs to be options! (Side note here for my brother, who is likely to get technical: I know Superman’s cape is red, but blue works better with Batman as the main side. I’m equally sure Darth Vader didn’t wear a waistcoat and pinstripe trousers like you did in your Vader costume as a child). The felt mask was a last-minute addition.

Instead of wrapping it all, I took an old jcrew box and stuck on a Batman logo with mod podge, then I packed it with the cape, mask, a store-bought Batman t-shirt, a little card I designed with gimp, and this book which introduces Batman and what he stands for. Hopefully this box will inspire imaginative play for years to come! Happy birthday Tom!

One thought on “Batman box for a birthday boy

Leave a Reply

